Skip To Main Content
Sacramento Country Day School

Francie Tidey Award

Francie Tidey Award

Honor. Acknowledge. Celebrate.

The Francie Tidey Award for Excellence in Education, established in 2001, is an alumni-sponsored faculty award named to honor longtime College Counselor and English Teacher Francie Tidey.

The purpose of the award is to honor a member of the faculty or administration who has made an outstanding contribution to the Sacramento Country Day School community during his or her tenure.

The award was founded as a tribute to those who gave and continue to give so unselfishly to the students at Sacramento Country Day School.

The advisory committee for the Francie Tidey Award will review nominations solicited from persons familiar with the school community and will select the recipient.

To give to the Francie Tidey Award, please click here.

Francie Tidey (1939-2003)

We can think of no person who better represents what we mean when we say “outstanding contribution to the school community” than the namesake of the award, Francie Tidey.

During her time at Sacramento Country Day School (1969-1986), Mrs. Tidey was the very personification of superior teaching.  An English teacher, college counselor and head of the upper school, “she taught us how to write and how to truly love literature; she labored over our college applications; she took us on field trips from Ashland to Yosemite to Ferndale and back again; she wrote and directed plays and films, began Brown and Gold Day (now Red and Black Day), and was the architect of our unique high school graduation ceremony.”  Many of the traditions Mrs. Tidey initiated remain a part of the school today.

After she left Country Day, Mrs. Tidey served thousands of young people in the Sacramento region by instituting academic support and college guidance for middle and high school students from low-income schools.

Nominate an Educator

Which teacher impacted you the most? Who do you remember from your time at Country Day and who do you feel deserves recognition for their efforts as an educator? Nominate them to receive the Francie Tidey Award for Excellence in Education.

Nominations are reviewed by the Francie Tidey Award Committee and a recipient selected from the pool. Once an educator is given the award, the text of nominations are shared with the awardee. Nominations are kept from year-to-year and revisited each year


First Name
Last Name

Francie Tidey Committee Members

  • Jason Allen ’95 (chair)
  • Sanjana Anand ‘22
  • Sam Applebaum ’94
  • Toran Brown ’82
  • Sahej Claire ‘18
  • Elise Craig ’02
  • Steve Davis ’82
  • Adam Eltorai ’06
  • Jackie Fischer ’11
  • Sarah Gaither ’03
  • Quincey Tidey Grieve ’86
  • Tim Grieve ’82
  • Amy Johnson ’95
  • Steve Lesher ’92
  • Emily Marmaduke ’04
  • David Russell ’99
  • Isabel Siragusa ’07
  • Leonor Talamantes ‘17
  • Ashley Tidey ’83
  • Manson Tung ‘16
  • Brandi Wertz Turner ’94
  • Jessica Vando ’92
  • Amy Nelson Wells ’98
  • Jordan Younger ’09